Alabama WR DeVonta Smith wins Heisman Trophy

Alabama’s DeVonta Smith wins this years Heisman Trophy award. Smith dominated this season. Smith finished the season with 105 receptions, 1641 yards, and 21 total touchdowns (20 receiving, one rushing). Smith becomes the first receiver to win the award since 1991, when Michigan’s Desmond Howard won the honors. DeVonta is also the first SEC receiver to win the award as well. Only two other Alabama players have won the award. Mark Ingram in 2009 and Derrick Henry 2015. Those three are also the only three Non-QB Heisman winners since 2007.

You can catch Smith one more time before he takes on the NFL in the College Football Playoff National Championship. Alabama is set to face Ohio State Monday, January 11th, at 8pm on ESPN.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.